Public Works and Highways Secretary Mark A. Villar announced that the final segment of the 88.85 kilometer-Tarlac-Pangasinan-La Union Expressway (TPLEX) will be open to motorists by July 15.

Secretary Villar said that the completion and opening of the 11-kilometer Pozorrubio, Pangasinan to Rosario, La Union Section is seen to drastically reduce travel time from Tarlac to Rosario by an hour from the current 3.5 hours.

With the completion of the last portion of originally designed TPLEX towards Rosario Rotunda (formerly Pugo – Rosario Road / Manila North Road Junction), travelling to the Ilocos Region and Baguio City in the Cordilleras will now be easy, added Secretary Villar.

From the Rosario rotunda, motorists bound Baguio have three route options of taking Marcos Highway (go further to Pugo) or Kennon Road or the Asin Nangalisan Road.

The P24-billion four (4) lane toll road project implemented by DPWH involves the design, financing, construction, operation, and maintenance by the private sector.

San Miguel Corporation’s Private Infra Dev Corporation holds the concession for TPLEX which is integrated with Subic-Clark-Tarlac Expressway (SCTEx) and the North Luzon Expressway (NLEx) connecting the central and northern Luzon provinces to Manila and beyond.

The entire length of the tollway have nine exits:

La Paz in Tarlac City, Victoria, Gerona, Paniqui and Moncada in Tarlac; Rosales, Urdaneta City and Pozzorrubio in Pangasinan, and Rosario in La Union.