Gonzalo cited for ‘distinguished, unselfish service’ NPC announces ‘Interim’ Board

THE National Press Club of the Philippines (NPC), one of the country’s oldest and biggest organization of active members of the press, announced on Friday, October 2, 2020, its ‘Interim Board’ that would serve its nearly 1,000 members until another election is held in 2022.

Composing the Interim Board are the following:

Executive Officers: Paul M. Gutierrez (Journal Group), President; Ma. Kristina Maralit (Daily Tribune), Vice President; Lydia Bueno, (Remate), Secretary; Mina Navarro (Abante), Treasurer; and, Boying Abasola (Balita/Manila Bulletin) Auditor.

Board of Directors: Benedict Abaygar (Pilipino Mirror/Radyo Pilipino); Nats Taboy (Remate); Aya Yupangco (DWIZ); Alvin Murcia (Daily Tribune); Madelyn Dominguez (Manila Bulletin); Jeany Lacorte (Abante); Joey Venancio (Police Files Tonight); Jun Mendoza (Phil. Star); Joe Torres (Licas News); and, Jean Fernando (Manila Bulletin).

The turnover of leadership between Gonzalo and Gutierrez held at the NPC Building at Magallanes Drive, Intramuros, Manila, was witnessed by former NPC presidents, Benny Antiporda, now an undersecretary at the Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) and, Joel Sy Egco, now an undersecretary at the Office of the President and the Presidential Communications Operations Office.

The NPC Board last September 10, 2020, passed Special Resolution No. 7, approving the creation of the Interim Board in view of the COVID-19 pandemic that prevented the Club from holding its biennial election and general assembly last May.

The resolution further noted the Club had thrice rescheduled the holding of its election of officers but was prevented from doing so in view of government regulations banning the holding of any mass gathering during the period of pandemic.

Highlighting the occasion was the giving of a ‘Leadership Award’ to Gonzalo in recognition of his “sincere dedication, distinguish, unselfish and outstanding service” to the Club as president.

Gonzales was elected without any opposition during the NPC election held in May 2018.

“Unmindful of any personal interest, Gonzalo has been a faithful and exemplary member of the Club that he has served for more than 30 years as Member, Director, Auditor, Vice President and subsequently, as President,” the citation reads.

In view of the urgent need to attend to its many tasks, the new board immediately buckled down to work after the turnover ceremony to discuss preparations for the Club’s 68TH anniversary this coming October 29, 2020.